Served by Machines

robotI walk into a store, the doors open by themselves. I walk down the aisle, looking for the items. Not sure of the price. I go to one of the scanners by a pole, and it reads the barcode and displays a price. I go to the public restroom, sit on the toilet, get up, and the toilet automatically flushes by itself (still have to wipe myself). I go to wash my hands, wait three seconds for the water to come down the faucet, since there is no knob. I go to dry my hands, and simply extend my hands to the dryer and it starts to blow by itself. Get out of the restroom and to the cash register. Go to the self serve register, scan the items myself, swipe my credit card, push “Credit”, push Yes on  “Amount Ok?”, grab the receipt that comes out by itself, take the groceries, and get out once again through an automatic door that opens by itself.

No need for human contact.   No one to talk to.   Nobody to say “good morning” to.   Simply service by machines.

What would be next, shoes that slide by themselves, like stakes, without the need for walking?  Some kids have shoes similar to this already.  How about shopping without stepping a foot out of the door?  Isn’t that already done with shopping online?  I can also see going to a restaurant and being attended by a machine, which has started with drive thrus.  Education is also done online.Vacations may come to us, instead of us traveling, through holograms. Heck, maybe we don’t even have to meet anyone, go on a date, get married, and have kids, since all of this may be done by machines also.

Again, no need for human contact.  No one to talk to.  Simply being served by machines.

Leave a Reply

