Fakebook

fakebookFirst, let me apologize to all the Facebook fans and addicts out there.  What am I apologizing for?  Well, simply for what you are about to read.  I have been tempted to re-activate my Facebook account a few times, after canceling my account four months ago.  Some friends have asked me to go back.  The reason for my discontinuation of this ridiculous “social” website was the waste of time.  Up to this point, when I let people know I don’t have a facebook account anymore, they act surprised, because they simply  did not know.  And this actually proves my point.  My Facebook “friends” don’t even notice when I cancel this useless social website account, which tells me they have not really paid attention to my absence.  People “friend” so many people, that they lose track of who comes or goes.  I became addicted to Facebook when I started about two years ago.  But as months passed, I found myself going there to find useless information about people I really did not care about.  I started feeling like I would visit to just get out with the same feeling of emptiness. I did find some old friends, and learned a lot about their current lives, but when I really started analyzing this whole “facebook friends” deal, thinking outside the box, I realized that it really is a superficial, self-serving, and lazy way of “socializing with friends”.  It is truly a means to serve ourselves, not about communicating and bonding with people in a genuine relationship.  This is my position:  if people really want to know about me, they need to call me.  If they really want to see how I am doing, they need to visit me.  If I want to know about my friends, I will call or visit them also.  I will make the effort to go out in the community, physically, and commute.  At least send them a letter or text, with the intention of meeting. I am not a social person by nature, but if I were, I would make the attempt. As a matter of fact, I take it back.  I don’t apologize for what I am writing, because I don’t really think I am offending anyone, but simply stating my honest opinion about the detrimental website called Facebook.  You don’t have to “Like” this post or “friend” me.  But you are more than welcome to comment. 🙂  Goodbye, my friend.

4 thoughts on “Fakebook

  1. Haha! I “liked” your post! I agree with you though. I have talked to people tons on facebook, but no one seems to have the time or motivation to get together in real life. It is a shame that people are connecting less and less in person. I only friend people that I know or am getting to know in real life so I have way fewer facebook friends than all of my friends, but I like it that way. It is quite addictive though! There are so much better ways to spend our time. It gets lonely actually just communicating with people through facebook.

  2. oh how you have inspired me you don’t know my friend. i have had this problem of facebook addiction from id say quite a long time now. but not after reading what you wrote. in fact im gonna deactive my account well soon enough! although i dont think facebook is that bad. but id say when taken in over dose, what isn’t bad? even love is bad when taken in over dose.

  3. Being an artist that may or may not ever produce significant art, I don’t like FB because they take a copyright license on any original thing I post. That just doesn’t seem to be in my best interest. I prefer WordPress!

  4. “It is truly a means to serve ourselves, not about communicating and bonding with people in a genuine relationship.” Yup, that about sums it up. Is it any wonder that narcissism is on the rise, with a rough correlation to the explosion of social media sites like Facebook??

    I said pretty much the same thing on my post, so I’ll just copy the link that I was pointing to here. I’m still considering this area as my focus of research in grad school. Haven’t decided yet:

    http://www.upworthy.com/loneliness-illustrated-so-beautifully-you-will-need-to-tell-someone?c=upw1

Leave a Reply

