Have you said Hello lately?

HelloI was in the eye doctor office today looking at glasses,  when I thought I heard someone call my name.  I turned around and it was the front desk person.  I thought she was attending me while I waited for the eye doctor , but then she clarified that she was just saying “Hello”.  Then she said “I was saying hello… I think when people meet each other they should say Hello to each other”.  I had to agree.  How often do we get close to a stranger and simply say Hello, even if we don’t feel like saying it?  How often do we get out of our comfort zone and reach out to others?  Are we so afraid of each other that we don’t dare to communicate with others for fear of being judged or ridiculed?  I often find my own shyness get in my way of connecting to others.  Even at work, I find myself isolating from others, and I don’t know why.  Maybe because I am the manager, a person with authority?  Well I tend to do the same in other settings, so perhaps it is just me feeling afraid anywhere.  I want to be more social and reachable, but my natural tendencies do not allow it.  I want to reach out without fear and anxiety.  Sure, there are boundaries to keep and respect, but I don’t think it would hurt to at least acknowledge that there are other human beings surrounding me that probably need to be recognized by uttering a simple “Hello”.  Perhaps if we all start doing a little bit more, if we make the effort of reaching out to others more, maybe this world would be a better place.  Don’t you think?

Leave a Reply

