Why Should Ladies Go First?

equalityI hope nobody misunderstands this post.  But I have been questioning the old tradition of ladies always going first.  Aren’t we all supposed to be equal?  What is the reason for opening the door, for example, to a lady?  Or letting the lady enter a room first?  Or allowing the lady  have the first turn?  Please don’t get me wrong.  I have nothing against ladies.  I am married to a lady, I am a father of a young lady, and a son of a senior lady.  So ladies are part of my life, and I love them dearly.  But today’s society teaches us to treat them differently.  Women are as equally valuable as men, right?  So why is it expected to treat other people differently just because of their gender?  I believe both men and women  should treat each other equally.  I don’t question opening the door to a lady, but I would do it because she is a person, not a lady.  The same way I would do it to a gentleman.  So my thought is that we should treat each other with respect and dignity, simply because we are all human, not because we are female or male, or because we have certain authority, or rank, or social status. We should open the door to each other because it is a mutual way of showing respect, regardless of gender.  Will I let a lady go first while entering a store? Sure!  But not because she is a lady, but because she is a human being,  just like me.  Peace.

One thought on “Why Should Ladies Go First?

  1. well, down were i live we usually hold the door open for everyone. But i do agree that there is a weird double edged sword with talk of equility. I think that goes for both men and women. I know a guy that got groped at work but was taken less seriously and never got to file anything because it was from a girl. Strange world.

Leave a Reply

