Wax my Eyebrows…? I don’t think so!

Okay…. I just had to write a post about this, no matter how silly it sounds. I am a Hispanic male with lost of facial hair.  I mean lots of it.  Okay, so it is common in my culture to let the hair grow like in a beard, mustache, sideburns, etc. But I also happen to have a very thick eyebrow that goes from one eye to the other.  Not exactly like Oscar the Grouch from the Muppets, but a significant thick pair of eyebrows.  My brothers have them, and my father has them.  But lately, in two occasions, the barbers have asked if I want my eyebrows trimmed or waxed.  I said to my self : Are you out of your mind?

But I also have to understand that it is a different culture.  A lot of these non-Hispanic would not find themselves with a pair of eyebrows like mine.  It is simply not in their genes.  But I ask myself: Isn’t it hard enough to shave my beard everyday?  Do I also have to worry about trimming my eyebrows?  That would be insane! Next thing would be to be asked to shave my arm hair and legs as  well.  But that would not happen in my lifetime.

Why do we shave anyways?  To please others, or to maintain good hygiene?  Maybe both.  We are constantly bombarded with advertisements from the media that suggest we dress, groom, and fix our hairs in a certain way.  It tells us how we should act and the attitudes we should have as well.  It is insane.  Worrying about what others think of us because of our looks is truly a waste of energy, in my opinion.  Which is why many times, when I look at the mirror and notice something that I think may catch people’s attention in a negative way, I tell myself: If they don’t like it, they can look the other way.  As simple as that.

So I will certainly keep my eyebrows, full and intact. Besides, they help me to block the sun, the rain, and the dust as well.  They are simply not just a pair of nice looking eyebrows.  😉

2 thoughts on “Wax my Eyebrows…? I don’t think so!

  1. This gave me a good laugh tonight! I love your attitude: if people don’t like it, they can look the other way!
    And some advice from a woman: once you start trimming, plucking, etc, you can’t stop. You would have the thickest eyebrows ever. Good sun protection, though! 🙂

  2. Former Catholic Turned Atheist says:

    Oh, those uni-brows! Lou Grant (Ed Asner) always come to mind. Love is all around no need to waste, you can have the town why don’t you take it. Da, da, da, dah, da ,da.

Leave a Reply

