The Adventures of a Modern Public Restroom

I wanted to share a long time ago the experience that I sometimes have with these interesting modern restrooms, which  have new convenient features.  I decided to put it in a story form.  Here you go:

I enter urgently into the public restroom, which has a small metallic sign on the door of a stick figure.  The other room has a female version of the stick figure.  As I walk pass the multiple sinks, they sense my presence and start pouring water by themselves, one by one.  I approach the toilet stall , enter, close the door,  and comfortably sit on the toilet seat.  I have the option of using the seat covers, but I am in too much of a hurry to use them.  I finish relieving myself and stand up and pull up my pants (after wiping, of course).  I turn to flush the toilet, but there is no handle.  I wait patiently for the toilet to also sense my presence and start flushing by itself.  But it doesn’t.  I patiently keep waiting, sometimes waving my hand from side to side in front of the toilet so that its sensor can depict my presence and do its job.  I look at the waste I had just deposited in the toilet’s bowl, hoping it would disappear soon under the violent rush of water during the flush and into the underground pipes.  Nothing.

I decide to exit the toilet stall and approach one of the sinks.  I can hear the toilet flushing in the distance.  I wave my hand in front of the sink,  and water starts pouring out of the faucet.   But it suddenly stops once I put my hands under the faucet.  I wave my hands again and water comes out again.  While my hands feel the cold water pouring over them, I reach out with my right hand for the soap.  I hold my hand under the soap dispenser, but nothing comes out.  I suddenly realize that, unlike the toilet and the sink, the soap dispenser does not have a sensor.  Therefore, I have to actually touch and push the button that says “push” and a foamy, white substance comes out of it on my hand.

I rub my hands while I continue to wash them.  I remove the hands from the sink, but the water continues to run.  I put my hands under the faucet again to rinse my hands one more time, but the faucet decides to stop pouring water this time, so I don’t get a last rinse of water.

I turn towards the hand dryer on the wall, since there is no paper towel dispenser on sight.  I put my hands under the hand dryer dispenser, and a strong, violent gush of hot hair comes rushing down against my wet hands.  I suddenly picture myself jumping out of a flying airplane and feeling this same rush of air towards my hands and my whole body.  My hands are completely dried in a matter of seconds.

Voila!  I exit the modern restroom with a great sense of accomplishment!  How convenient these modern restrooms can be!

(I think the lights turn off by themselves once I leave the restroom as well . )

Leave a Reply

