Another Anxiety Attack

Today I had an anxiety attack at work. There I was, working as a mental health counselor , giving other people a listening ear, and offering professional advise . All of a sudden I started experiencing shortness of breath. This was followed by the usual lightheadedness. It was awful. I felt I was about to faint.

My anxiety usually causes shortness of breath and lightheadedness.

I tried to concentrate on what we were discussing, and maintain my composure. I kept my comments short and precise, since my speech becomes difficult during these moments. I took some deep breaths whenever I could and reminded myself that I was just having another anxiety episode. I remember thinking “this will pass soon.”

It lasted for an hour and a half. That equals to two full sessions, 45 minutes each. It was difficult. By the end of the second session, I was thankfull that I could stand up and walk around. When the third session started I was much better. I also remember using a stress ball between the two sessions in an attempt to distract myself.

I am glad I didn’t faint or started shaking, that would have been embarrassing. That’s what I worry about when I have these episodes. Other people to notice what is happening to me. I also kept looking at my new Apple Watch to keep track of my heart rate, which I know I shouldn’t have. I think looking at my heart rate kept the anxiety attack going.

Later in the evening I exercised by running a mile. I try to stay active and healthy as a natural way to treat this anxiety. I feel better about myself knowing i have been exercising. And trying to maintain a healthy diet.

I am aware that I tend to Google my physical symptoms a lot. I need to stop doing that. I shall continue to practice mindfulness and disputing my negative thoughts. And also maintain an active lifestyle. I am not getting any younger so it is vital for me to remain as calm as I can.

Thanks for reading.

Meditation is one of many ways to remain calm and practice mindfulness.

3 thoughts on “Another Anxiety Attack

  1. socialworkerangela says:

    I too work in the mental health field and get anxiety. It gives us a understanding others don’t have yet its not a job you can take a break from whenever. Hugs to you for doing self care to mitigate it.

    • Thanks for commenting. It is definitely something that some of us struggle with. But that’s is OK. Our personal experience can be an inspiration to others. Take care.

Leave a comment